Feb 27, 2024  
2021-2022 Graduate Catalog 
2021-2022 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

The University System of Georgia

Return to: Administration and Faculty 

The University System of Georgia includes all state-operated institutions of higher education in Georgia: four research universities, four comprehensive universities, nine state universities, and nine state colleges. These 26 public institutions are located throughout the state.

A 19-member constitutional Board of Regents governs the University System, which has been in operation since 1931. Appointments of board members, five from the state-at-large and one from each of the state’s fourteen congressional districts, are made by the governor and are subject to confirmation by the State Senate. Regular terms of board members are seven years.

The chairperson, vice chairperson, and other officers of the Board of Regents are elected by the members of the board. The chancellor, who is not a member of the board, is the chief executive officer of the board and the chief administrative officer of the University System.

The overall programs and services of the University System are offered through three major components: instruction, public service and continuing education, and research.

Instruction consists of programs of study leading toward degrees, ranging from the associate (two-year) level to the doctoral level, and certificates.

Standards for admission of students to instructional programs at each institution are determined by the institution pursuant to policies of the Board of Regents. The board establishes minimum standards and leaves to each institution the prerogative to establish higher standards. Applications for admission should be addressed to the institutions.

Public service and continuing education consist of non-degree activities, primarily, and special types of college degree credit courses. The non-degree activities include short courses, seminars, conferences, and consultative and advisory services in many areas of interest. Typical college degree credit courses are those offered through extension center programs and teacher education consortiums.

Research encompasses scholarly investigations conducted for discovery and application of knowledge. Most of the research is conducted through the universities; however, some of it is conducted through several of the senior colleges. The research investigations cover matters related to the educational objectives of the institutions and to general social needs.

The policies of the Board of Regents provide a high degree of autonomy for each institution. The executive head of each institution is the president, whose election is recommended by the chancellor and approved by the board.

Send correspondence to:

The University System of Georgia
270 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Additional information about the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia, including a listing of Regents, senior staff and system institutions can be found at www.usg.edu.